Enable Exam Form locking
Exam form overwrites can occur if more than one user is accessing an exam or history form at the same time.
- To combat this, there is a practice setting located at Menu > Settings > Practice Setup > General > Medical Record Settings > Enable exam and history form edit locking? *.
- Once you save this setting, log out and log back in to allow eVetPractice to apply the setting.
Using Exam Form locking
When you are creating or editing a form, a red asterisk will appear next to the form name in the patient medical record, signifying that someone is currently using the form.
Using the Save and Release button at the bottom of a form will remove the lock/asterisk indicator. Otherwise, the form will remain locked 5 to 10 minutes after it is no longer in use.
The Save Progress button saves current changes without exiting the form.
If another user clicks the Edit pencil icon on the currently locked exam form, they will see the warning pictured below in red, with the opportunity to force override the lock in order to make edits.
NOTE: A lock override can cause form overwrites even with the setting enabled.